The Ultimate Cookie Recipe

I have shared this recipe before on my old blog but do feel it deserves to be revisited on this new, improved page as it has been so successful and has a devoted following among my friends; It was passed to me by a friend who got it from one of her friends and I have passed it on to many of my friends in turn. Frankly it’s amazing and I don’t think anybody could dislike the cookies that it makes; gorgeously generous, crisp on the outside yet soft and slightly chewy on the inside.  It is perfectly acceptable to make the dough as below and freeze half before cooking… I like to freeze individual balls of the dough on a tray so that I can have the next batch of cookies ready in a flash with minimal washing up. Of course they are so delicious that they disappear rather quickly when given half a chance. I wouldn’t bother halving the mixture unless you only have one egg in the house; the cookies will all find a good home.

Ingredients (makes 24 great big squidgy cookies…..)

 

170g (6oz) softened butter or margarine
170g (6oz) caster sugar
170g (6oz) soft brown sugar
2 large eggs
1tsp vanilla extract
340g (12oz) SR flour
a 200g bar of chocolate chopped into chunks. I usually use 250g for luck **

 

**NB you could replace some of the chocolate with dried fruit, fudge or similar. The fudge will melt & spread but I think we can live with slightly messy looking cookies can’t we. You could use chocolate chips but they seem a bit on the small side to me; I like my chocolate chunky! When I’m chopping my chocolate I find it easiest to leave the bar whole, lie it on a chopping board and cut the bar lengthwise then along the width of the bar like this;

 

 

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 *C, grease and line your baking trays

 2. Beat butter/ marge & sugar together until creamy;

 

 

 

3. Beat in the egg and vanilla thoroughly;

 

 

 

 

 

4. Sift in flour & fold in until combined;

 

 

 

5. Stir in the chocolate chunks (I used white chocolate & strawberry and milk chocolate this time around!);

 

 

 

6. Bake heaped dessertspoonfuls 6 to a tray for 10-12 minutes (they spread out quite a bit and should be only very slightly golden when they are done. they will sink down & go flat but that’s the plan;

 

 

 

 

7. Leave the cookies to cool a little bit before lifting them onto a cooling rack or they will break apart.

 

 

  

8. Enjoy with a nice cup of tea… or maybe a lovely ice cold glass of milk.

Leave a Reply

