Christmas countdown; 29 sleeps… Time to make the Christmas cake!

 

I am pretty much unable to fiddle with a recipe… I started with Nigella’s classic Christmas cake from “Nigella Christmas” and changed it. I added more almonds, orange juice mixed with my own homemade apple liqueur, self raising flour rather than plain and different measurements of everything. Then I made it in a different way too; steeping the dried fruit in the juice & liqueur mixed with the sugar, almond extract and treacle….. I melted the butter so it was very soft but not liquid and beat that in with the eggs before folding in the dry ingredients (she used a creaming method)

2 1/4 hours of baking and the cake was done and the house is smelling deliciously festive. have you made our Christmas cake yet? I can’t wait for a taste of mine on Christmas Eve!

Leave a Reply

